About

+dimensions is an artistic and design research project (2021–2024) at the weißensee school of art and design berlin, delving into discrimination-free, hybrid learning spaces, for research-based and project-oriented teaching. The methodological approach is experimental, performative and practice-based. The transdisciplinary project team represents all nine of the university’s departments: Fashion Design, Product Design, Textile and Surface Design, Visual Communication, Painting, Sculpture, Stage and Costume Design, Theory and History, and Foundation. The group members are both individually active in teaching and research in their areas of expertise, as well as connected through common projects and goals. Through this network, knowledge transfer is facilitated from and into the departments and the university community at large. In addition, the exchange expands through external university collaborations. Each semester, the group engages with a new main common topic, which is addressed by the +dimensions dialogues event series, and accompanied the +dimensions publications series. +dimensions is supported by the Stiftung Innovation in der Hochschullehre.

Project Team

Juana Awad, Volo Bevza, Elaine Bonavia, Paulina Grebenstein, Madeleine Madej, Thomas Ness, Julian Netzer, Stefanie Rau, Andreas Rost, Lara Roßwag, Henrike Uthe

Juana Awad

Artistic researcher and lecturer, Theory and History

Juana Awad studied Semiotics and Drama/Theatre Studies at the University of Toronto (CA), Fine Art Media at the Slade School of Fine Art UCL London (UK) and Cultures of the Curatorial at the HGB Leipzig. Her principal interests lie at the intersections of knowledge production and aesthetic practices, the effects of institutional processes on the reception of art, and the political potential of arts and culture presenting. She has been responsible for curatorial projects in Canada, Germany, Colombia, Argentina, India and England. Professional positions include director of the 3D Film Innovation Consortium at York University, programming for the Toronto International Film Festival, co-director of the Carnival of Cultures in Berlin, scientific coordinator of the German Research Foundation– Research Training Group “Knowledge in the Arts” at the Berlin University of the Arts. She is currently researching and teaching on decolonial theories and practices at the weißensee school of art and design berlin.

Related Articles

Postmigrant Critiques, Postcolonial & Decolonial Matters, Christine Reeh-Peters , Patricia Ribault, WINT Design Lab: Felix Rasehorn & Robin Hoske, Arts Presenting as Political Arena, Verena Melgarejo Weinandt

Volo Bevza

Artistic researcher and lecturer, Painting

Volo Bevza studied stage design at the Academy of Fine Arts in Kyiv (UA) from 2010 to2014, where he graduated with a Master’s degree in 2015. This was followed by studies in fine arts at the weißensee school of art and design berlin, where he graduated in 2019 as a master student in the class of Prof. Friederike Feldmann.
Bevza’s work deals with the omnipresence of the internet, focusing on the question of the role of painting in the post-digital age. He relies on the hybridization of the painting process to open up new, critical perspectives within the medium of painting. Themes such as the critical failure of digital tools, the shattered dream of egalitarian social media, and democracy in jeopardy as a result, form the background for his artistic practice.
Volo Bevza lives in Berlin and works as a visual artist, lecturer and curator.  

Related Articles

Softimage

Elaine Bonavia

Artistic researcher and lecturer, Textile and Surface Design

Elaine Bonavia is an architectural design researcher working at the intersection of computational design, art and technology. She has curated exhibitions and previously worked extensively within the self-organized international European Architecture Students Assembly (EASA). During her studies, her research theme focused on adaptive architecture and bending-active structures. She is a complex modeling specialist and has worked on the design and construction of various architectural pavilions through the development of computational tools and material research. She was actively involved in various research projects at the University of Stuttgart within the Institute for Computational Design (ICD) and Institute for Building Structures and Structural Design (itke)). Since 2020 she has been teaching in the Textile and Surface Design department at the weißensee academy of art and design berlin where she is currently involved in research on Augmented Reality and textile production processes for the creation of architectural material systems.

Related Articles

Tracing Textility

Paulina Grebenstein

Artistic researcher and lecturer, Product Design

Paulina Grebenstein has a degree in product design. After semesters abroad in Norway and Taiwan, she graduated with her Bachelor and Master degrees from weißensee school of art and design berlin with a focus on user experience, climate adaptation and design for the planet. Her final project “urban:eden” was awarded several design prizes and supported by the Design-in-Tech accelerator Design Farm Berlin with a scholarship for further development. Her work focuses on viable visions for current social and environmental issues, which are approached through the means of user experience, service, urban, product, and sustainable design. 

Related Articles

Founding a VR/AR Laboratory, Christine Reeh-Peters , Patricia Ribault, WINT Design Lab: Felix Rasehorn & Robin Hoske, Verena Melgarejo Weinandt, Visions in Design

Madeleine Madej

Artistic researcher and lecturer, Fashion Design

Madeleine Madej studied experimental fashion design at the Berlin University of the Arts and at Danmarks Designskole Copenhagen (DK). She worked as a strategic designer for international clothing companies for several years, and in 2013 she began teaching fashion design courses in parallel at various universities such as Berlin University of the Arts, HTW Berlin University of Applied Sciences and others. At weißensee school of art and design berlin, she has been teaching digital design, illustration and presentation techniques for fashion designers as an artistic lecturer since 2020. Furthermore, Madej researches the interplay between technology and design in the process of creating fashion on an avatar in three-dimensional space.

Related Articles

Poetic Bits, Founding a VR/AR Laboratory, 3d Technologies in Fashion

Julian Netzer

Artistic researcher and lecturer, Visual Communication

Julian Netzer studied visual communication with a focus on New media at the Berlin University of the Arts. Since then, he has been working as a cross-media designer, media artist and lecturer. In his work he explores the peripherals of real and virtual environments and the implications and possibilities of emerging technologies such as machine learning, virtual and augmented reality. His work has been shown at the European Media Arts Festrical / INIT Exhibition and Vienna Art Week (AT), among others. At the weißensee school of art and design he teaches mainly in the field of digital media and interaction design. As a freelancer, Netzer works as a designer and developer of real-time 3D applications and interactive art installations.

Related Articles

Founding a VR/AR Laboratory, Commons in Art & Design

Stefanie Rau

Artistic researcher and lecturer, Art and Design Foundations

Stefanie Rau’s work moves between the fields of conceptual design, text-based artistic practice and teaching. She first studied Visual Communication at the Berlin University of the Arts and completed her Master’s degree at the Critical Studies Department of the Sandberg Institute, Amsterdam (NL). There she developed an artistic writing practice articulated through lecture performances, essay films or installations. Until 2021 she was part of the graphic design team of Missy Magazine. In 2017 she co-founded operative.space, a studio for conceptual design practices and since 2019, she teaches at the weißensee school of art and design berlin in the foundation department.

Related Articles

Periphery of the Curriculum?!

Andreas Rost

Artistic researcher and lecturer, Sculpture

Andreas Rost completed his photography studies with Arno Fischer at the Academy of Fine Arts Leipzig. Since then, he has worked as a photographer, lecturer, curator and author for national and international institutions such as C/O Berlin, Spector Books, Goethe-Institut or ifa – Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen as well as Dresden University of Fine Arts and weißensee school of art and design berlin. His photographic work moves on the edge between documentation and artistic photography. In addition to numerous publications of his own, he co-edited the book “Das Jahr 1990 freilegen” in 2019, which received the Stiftung Buchkunst prize in 2020.

Lara Roßwag

Artistic researcher and lecturer, Stage and Costume Design

Lara Roßwag studied stage and costume design at the weißensee school of art and design berlin. Throughout her studies, she received the German Academic Scholarship (Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes) and gained practical experience as an assistant at various theaters and in numerous projects of her own, both in film and at theater houses. In 2019, she was awarded the “Bild-Kunst” special prize for “best costume design” at the International Hof Film Festival. She finished her studies with the production “Die Lage”by Thomas Melle, which premiered at the Staatstheater Stuttgart. She works as a freelance stage and costume designer both in theater and film. As part of her artistic research she explores the intersection between film and theater.

Related Articles

Founding a VR/AR Laboratory, Christine Reeh-Peters , Patricia Ribault, WINT Design Lab: Felix Rasehorn & Robin Hoske, Cinematic Theater, Theatrical Cinema, Verena Melgarejo Weinandt

Henrike Uthe

Projectmanagement

Henrike Uthe studied communication design and media art in Halle and Istanbul. She has been working as a designer in Berlin since 2011. She co-founded the design studios Rocco Park and Rimini Berlin. In addition, she has also graphically designed numerous exhibitions with scenography studios, such as for the International Building Exhibition 2010 and the Jewish Museum Berlin. Since 2013 she has been actively involved in art education, among others at the Berlin University of the Arts, at weißensee school of art and design berlin and at the Dortmund University of Applied Sciences and Arts. She is also a co-initiator and member of the Fokusgruppe gestalterische Forschung (FGGF).

Related Articles

Christine Reeh-Peters , Patricia Ribault, WINT Design Lab: Felix Rasehorn & Robin Hoske, Verena Melgarejo Weinandt, Florian Dombois

Thomas Ness

Lead

Thomas Ness is professor of Embodied Interaction in the department of Product Design at weißensee school of art and design berlin and principal investigator in the interdisciplinary research and development cluster “Matters of Activity“ at Humboldt University of Berlin.
With a background in designing physical interactions, his focus is on exploring and prototyping visions for implementing new technologies in social contexts. In his professional career, he has worked for international clients in the automotive and technology industries as well as for educational and cultural institutions. He was a founding member of CIRG, a Berlin-based invention design firm. At the weißensee school of art and design berlin, he currently leads digital transformation, among other projects.

About

+dimensions ist ein künstlerisch-gestalterisches Forschungsvorhaben (2021–2024) an der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin, welches sich mit diskriminierungssensiblen hybriden Lernräumen für die forschende und projektorientierte Lehre auseinandersetzt. Experimentell, performativ und praxisbezogen ist das methodische Vorgehen. Das Projektteam ist transdisziplinär und wird durch alle neun Fachgebiete der Hochschule vertreten: Mode-Design, Produkt-Design, Textil- und Flächendesign, Visuelle Kommunikation, Malerei, Bildhauerei, Bühnen- und Kostümbild, Theorie und Geschichte und Grundlagen. Die Mitarbeitenden sind sowohl individuell in ihren Fachgebieten in der Lehre und Forschung aktiv, als auch über gemeinsame Projekte und Ziele verbunden. Durch dieses Netzwerk wird der Wissenstransfer aus und in die Fachgebiete und die Hochschulgemeinschaft ermöglicht. Darüber hinaus erweitert sich der Austausch über externe Hochschulkooperationen. Die Gruppe beschäftigt sich jedes Semester mit einem neuen Schwerpunktthema, welches durch die Veranstaltungsreihe +dimensions dialogues und die Serie +dimensions publications zugänglich gemacht wird. +dimensions wird durch die Stiftung Innovation in der Hochschullehre unterstützt.

Projektteam

Juana Awad, Volo Bevza, Elaine Bonavia, Paulina Grebenstein, Madeleine Madej, Thomas Ness, Julian Netzer, Stefanie Rau, Andreas Rost, Lara Roßwag, Henrike Uthe

Juana Awad

Künstlerische Mitarbeit, Theorie und Geschichte

Juana Awad studierte Semiotik und Theaterwissenschaften an der University of Toronto (CA), Fine Art Media an der Slade School of Fine Art London (GB) und Kulturen des Kuratorischen an der HGB Leipzig. Ihre Hauptinteressen gelten den Überschneidungen von Wissen und künstlerischen Praktiken, den Auswirkungen institutioneller Prozesse auf die Rezeption von Kunst sowie dem politischen Potenzial der Präsentation von Kunst und Kultur. Sie hat in Kanada, Deutschland, Kolumbien, Argentinien, Indien und England kuratorische Projekte verantwortet. Berufliche Stationen waren u. a. das Toronto International Film Festival, die 3DFLIC York University Toronto, die Co-Direktion des „Karnevals der Kulturen“ in Berlin und die wissenschaftliche Koordination DFG-Graduiertenkollegs „Das Wissen der Künste“ an der Universität der Künste Berlin. Derzeit forscht und lehrt sie zur dekolonialen Theorien und Praktiken an der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin.

Zugehörige Artikel

Postmigrantische Kritiken, Postcolonial & Decolonial Matters, Christine Reeh-Peters, Patricia Ribault, WINT Design Lab: Felix Rasehorn & Robin Hoske, Kunstpräsentation als politische Arena, Verena Melgarejo Weinandt

Volo Bevza

Künstlerische Mitarbeit, Malerei

Volo Bevza studierte von 2010 bis 2014 Bühnenbild an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Kyjiw (UA), wo er 2015 mit dem Master abschloss. Im Anschluss folgte das Studium der Bildenden Kunst an der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin, das er 2019 als Meisterschüler in der Klasse Prof. Friederike Feldmann absolvierte.
Bevza beschäftigt sich in seinem Werk mit der Omnipräsenz des Internets und fokussiert sich hierbei auf die Frage nach der Rolle der Malerei im postdigitalen Zeitalter. Er setzt auf eine Hybridisierung des Malprozesses, um neue, kritische Perspektiven innerhalb des Mediums Malerei zu eröffnen. Themen wie das kritische Versagen digitaler Werkzeuge, der geplatzte Traum von egalitären Social Media und dadurch in Gefahr geratene Demokratie, bilden den Hintergrund für seine künstlerische Arbeit.
Volo Bevza lebt in Berlin und arbeitet als bildender Künstler, Dozent und Kurator. 

Zugehörige Artikel

Softimage

Elaine Bonavia

Künstlerische Mitarbeit, Textil- und Flächendesign

Elaine Bonavia ist Architektur- und Design-Forscherin und arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von computerbasiertem Entwerfen, Kunst und Technologie. Sie hat Ausstellungen kuratiert und zuvor intensiv im Rahmen der selbstorganisierten internationalen European Architecture Students Assembly (EASA) gearbeitet. Während ihres Studiums konzentrierte sich ihr Forschungsthema auf adaptive Architektur und biegeaktive Strukturen. Sie ist Spezialistin für komplexe Modellierung und hat durch die Entwicklung von Berechnungswerkzeugen und Materialforschung an der Gestaltung und Konstruktion verschiedener Architekturpavillons mitgewirkt.. Sie war aktiv an verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten der Universität Stuttgart amInstitut für Computerbasiertes Entwerfen (ICD) und Institut für Tragkonstruktionen und konstruktives Entwerfen (itke) beteiligt. Seit 2020 lehrt sie im Fachbereich Textil- und Flächendesign an der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin und forscht derzeit zu Augmented Reality und textilen Produktionsprozessen für die Gestaltung von architektonischen Materialsystemen.

Zugehörige Artikel

Verfolgung der Textilität

Paulina Grebenstein

Künstlerische Mitarbeit, Produkt-Design

Paulina Grebenstein ist studierte Produkt-Designerin. Nach Auslandssemestern in Norwegen und Taiwan, absolvierte sie ihren Bachelor sowie ihren Master an der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin mit den Schwerpunkten User Experience, Klimaanpassung und Design for the Planet. Ihre Abschlussarbeit „urban:eden“ wurde mit mehreren Designpreisen ausgezeichnet und durch die Design Farm Berlin in der Weiterentwicklung und Selbstständigkeit gefördert. Im Mittelpunkt ihrer Arbeiten stehen umsetzbare Visionen für aktuelle soziale und ökologische Themen, denen durch die Mittel von UX-, Service-, Urban-, Produkt- und nachhaltigem Design begegnet wird.

Zugehörige Artikel

Aufbau eines VR/AR-Labors, Christine Reeh-Peters, Patricia Ribault, WINT Design Lab: Felix Rasehorn & Robin Hoske, Verena Melgarejo Weinandt, Visionen im Design

Madeleine Madej

Künstlerische Mitarbeit, Mode-Design

Madeleine Madej studierte experimentelle Bekleidungsgestaltung an der Universität der Künste Berlin und an Danmarks Designskole Kopenhagen (DK). Nach mehrjähriger Tätigkeit als strategische Designerin für internationale Bekleidungsunternehmen begann sie 2013, parallel an Modedesign-Fakultäten diverser Hochschulen wie u.a. der Universität der Künste Berlin, Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin zu lehren. An der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin unterrichtet sie seit 2020 als künstlerische Mitarbeiterin digitale Entwurfs-, Darstellungs- und Präsentationstechniken im Modedesign. Darüber hinaus forscht Madej zur Wechselwirkung von Technologie und Gestaltung beim Entwerfen von Bekleidung am Avatar im dreidimensionalen Raum.

Zugehörige Artikel

Poetic Bits, Aufbau eines VR/AR-Labors, 3D-Technologie in der Mode

Julian Netzer

Künstlerische Mitarbeit, Visuelle Kommunikation

Julian Netzer studierte Visuelle Kommunikation mit dem Schwerpunkt Neue Medien an der Universität der Künste Berlin. Seitdem ist er als transmedialer Gestalter, Medienkünstler und Dozent tätig. Er erforscht dabei insbesondere die Grenzen von realen und virtuellen Welten sowie die Auswirkungen und Möglichkeiten neuer Technologien wie Machine Learning, Virtual- und Augmented Reality. Seine Arbeiten wurden u.a. auf dem European Media Arts Festival / INIT Exhibitionund der Vienna Art Week (AT) gezeigt. An der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin unterrichtet er überwiegend im Bereich Digital Media und Interaction Design. Freiberuflich arbeitet Netzer als Gestalter und Entwickler von Echtzeit-3D-Anwendungen und interaktiven Kunstinstallationen.

Zugehörige Artikel

Aufbau eines VR/AR-Labors, Commons in Kunst & Gestaltung

Stefanie Rau

Künstlerische Mitarbeit, Künstlerisch Gestalterische Grundlagen

Stefanie Rau bewegt sich mit ihrer Arbeit zwischen den Bereichen der konzeptionellen Gestaltung, der text-basierten künstlerischen Praxis und der Lehre. Sie studierte zunächst Visuelle Kommunikation an der Universität der Künste Berlin und machte ihren Master am Critical Studies Department des Sandberg Instituts, Amsterdam (NL). Dort entwickelte sie eine künstlerische Schreibpraxis, die sich durch Lecture Performances, Essayfilme oder Installationen artikuliert. Bis 2021 war sie Teil des Grafik-Teams des Missy Magazines. 2017 hat sie operative.space – Studio für konzeptuelle Gestaltung mitgegründet und unterrichtet seit 2019 an der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin in den Künstlerisch-Gestalterischen Grundlagen.

Zugehörige Artikel

Peripherie des Curriculums?!

Andreas Rost

Künstlerische Mitarbeit, Bildhauerei

Andreas Rost schloss sein Fotografie-Studium bei Arno Fischer an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig ab. Seitdem arbeitet er als Fotograf, Dozent, Kurator und Autor für nationale wie internationale Institutionen so z.B. C/O Berlin, Spector Books, Goethe-Institut oder ifa – Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen sowie Hochschule für Bildende Künste Dresden und weißensee kunsthochschule berlin. Seine fotografische Arbeit bewegt sich auf der Grenzlinie zwischen Dokumentation und künstlerischer Fotografie. Neben zahlreichen eigenen Publikationen war er 2019 Mitherausgeber des Buches „Das Jahr 1990 freilegen“, das 2020 den Preis der Stiftung Buchkunst erhielt.

Lara Roßwag

Künstlerische Mitarbeit, Bühnen- und Kostümbild

Lara Roßwag studierte Bühnen- und Kostümbild an der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin. Als Studentin und Meisterschülerin war sie Stipendiatin der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes. Vor und während des Studiums assistierte sie an diversen Theatern und realisierte zahlreiche eigene Projekte, sowohl im Film als auch an Schauspielhäusern. 2019 wurde sie mit dem Bild-Kunst-Sonderpreis für bestes Kostümbild“ bei den Internationalen Hofer Filmtagen ausgezeichnet. Ihr Studium beendete sie mit der Inszenierung „Die Lage“ (UA) von Thomas Melle am Staatstheater Stuttgart. Sie arbeitet als freie Bühnen- und Kostümbildnerin gleichermaßen am Theater und im Film. Im Rahmen ihrer künstlerischen Mitarbeit erforscht sie die Schnittstelle zwischen Film und Theater.

Zugehörige Artikel

Aufbau eines VR/AR-Labors, Christine Reeh-Peters, Patricia Ribault, WINT Design Lab: Felix Rasehorn & Robin Hoske, Filmisches Theater, theatraler Film, Verena Melgarejo Weinandt

Henrike Uthe

Projektmanagement

Henrike Uthe hat in Halle und Istanbul Kommunikationsdesign und Medienkunst studiert. Sie ist seit 2011 als Dipl. Kommunikationsdesignerin in Berlin tätig. Als Partnerin hat sie die Design Studios Rocco Park und Rimini Berlin mitgegründet. Darüber hinaus hat sie mit Szenografiebüros zahlreiche Ausstellungen grafisch gestaltet und umgesetzt, wie z.B. für die Internationale Bauausstellung 2010 und für das Jüdische Museum Berlin. Seit 2013 ist sie in der Lehre tätig, u. a. an der Universität der Künste Berlin, an der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin und an der Fachhochschule Dortmund. Außerdem ist sie Mitinitiatorin und Mitglied der Fokusgruppe gestalterische Forschung (FGGF).

Zugehörige Artikel

Christine Reeh-Peters, Patricia Ribault, WINT Design Lab: Felix Rasehorn & Robin Hoske, Verena Melgarejo Weinandt, Florian Dombois

Thomas Ness

Leitung

Thomas Ness ist Professor für „Embodied Interaction“ im Fachgebiet Produktdesign an der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin und Principal Investigator im interdisziplinären Exzellenzcluster „Matters of Activity“ an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.
Mit seinem Hintergrund in der Gestaltung physischer Interaktionen liegt sein Fokus auf der Exploration und Prototypisierung von Visionen für die Implementierung neuer Technologien in sozialen Kontexten. In seiner beruflichen Laufbahn hat er für internationale Kunden aus der Automobil- und Technologiebranche sowie für Bildungs- und Kultureinrichtungen gearbeitet. Er war Gründungsmitglied von CIRG, einer in Berlin ansässigen Firma für Invention Design. An der weißensee Kunsthochschule leitet er derzeit unteranderem die digitale Transformation.